fbpx Skip nav to main content. Start Video Call
Blog Arsenal News

Here are the winners of the 2019 Arsenal Credit Union Scholarship competition

Arsenal News
Here are the winners of the 2019 Arsenal Credit Union Scholarship competition

This year, we awarded a total of $5,400 in college scholarships. Over the past 23 years, we have awarded a total of $80,650 to 85 deserving young men and women.

Four local high school seniors earned college scholarships from the credit union based on excelling in the classroom, being involved in extracurricular school activities, writing an essay and sharing Arsenal’s vision of giving back to the community through volunteer work and outstanding citizenship.

About the Randy D. Pratt College Scholarship

The top scholarships at Arsenal are now named in honor of the credit union’s long-time board director/chairman, Randy Pratt, who championed the program over the years and just retired after 28 years of volunteer service. The students finishing with the highest scores – Kaitlyn Ashabranner and Zane Yates – each received a $1,500 Randy D. Pratt College Scholarship.

Kaitlyn Ashabranner: Notre Dame High School

Kaitlyn Ashabranner 3

Kaitlyn will be attending Washington University to study computer engineering and robotics. Not only is Kaitlyn interested in the fields of technology, she is also a major proponent of opening them up to more women. At her high school, after the only computer coding class was removed, she started a robotics club. Her goal is to create more gender distribution in the fields of science, math and technology.

Learn more about Kaitlyn in the video below.

Zane Yates: Parkway Wet High School

Zane will be attending Missouri University of Science and Technology to study engineering. In addition to his strong academic career, Zane has devoted much of his time to the Boy Scouts, where he achieved the highest rank of Eagle Scout. He spent 60 service hours working on his Eagle Scout project improving a public trail in his neighborhood.

Learn more about Zane in the video below.

The two runners-up, Caitlyn Reilly and Allison Tinker, each received a $1,200 scholarship.

Caitlyn Reilly: Ursuline Academy

Caitlyn Reilly 3

Caitlyn will be attending the University of Arkansas to study architecture and interior design. Her decision to study design comes from a service project in New Orleans where she helped rebuild a house that was destroyed by natural disasters twice. After college, Caitlyn wants to help less fortunate people redevelop the and regrow the communities they call home.

Learn more about Caitlyn in the video below.

Allison Tinker: Seckman High School

Allison will be attending the University of Missouri to study health sciences, then earn a doctorate in physical therapy. She has gotten a head-start on her higher education through the College Acceleration Program. This May, Allison will graduate with 65 college credits and receive her associate’s degree, while also graduating cum laude from Seckman and making the dean’s list.

Learn more about Allison in the video below.

Who will win scholarships next year?

Are you going to be a high school senior next year? Do you have a student who will graduate in the class of 2020? Remember that we start accepting scholarship applications in October from students who have been members of the credit union for at least one year (e.g., they are the primary owner on an Arsenal account that was opened no later than Feb. 4, 2019).

Stay tuned to our website, social media and your email inbox for more information about this amazing opportunity.